top of page
Search
  • miketfkee

TDEMO Game 4: Star Fox

Updated: May 16, 2021


Game 4 of TDEMO was to make a Star Fox game. Without any prior experience with making this genre of game, as a group we decided to keep it simple and stick with a basic "ground" theme/level. Using my previous experience with last group's well-planned division of work, I suggested that we should split ourselves into groups of coders, artists, UI and sound. However, this was where the problems started arising.


Firstly, over half of the group was missing for our first group meeting, and a few only joined late into the first week. Secondly, one of the missing people was one of the Enterprise leaders and the other was not very keen on getting the group on track, so we had to make do with jumbled ideas. Thirdly, (and this is my fault) I was unable to get more than 3 seats via Unity Teams, so the number of people able to work on the project at one time was severely limited (as it turns out, not as severe as would have been expected due to reasons explained later).


This time, I chose to work on the coding aspect of the game. In the final build, I had created the pause menu, the health bar, wrote the code that determined collision, worked on the box colliders for all the objects that were possibly collide-able. I had also fixed issues with the map which included the player jet not registering collisions correctly, and the bullet spawn point constantly being an issue. Unfortunately, even on the final build we were not able to fully fix the issue of the bullet spawn point dislocating when the player crashed into objects. Otherwise, I believe there were no other issues with the game.


There wasn't any part of the code that I was particularly proud of, simply because it was all fairly simple. Learning how to make a health bar and a pause menu was important because these were things that would very likely be needed in other games, and learning to use a dolly track for pre-planned movement for enemies was very interesting, albeit a little confusing at first.


We definitely could have made a better game than what we submitted, but lack of people contributing in general (apart from me and two others) slowed progress down significantly. Even if I was able to get more seats for the project, the lack of contribution from the other members of the team would not have made much of a difference. Despite this, we produced a smoothly running game with few bugs and most features that I would have liked to see in any game (bgm, sfx, pause menu) and I learned a lot about how to make these things myself. I also learned to build a WebGL version of the game which makes it easier for others to just pick the game up and play, rather than downloading and unzipping the game.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TDEMO Individual Portfolio

This blog will cover my experience with the Technical Games Development module over the whole year, what I learnt from making the games and what I could improve upon. I will go over the 5 games I had

bottom of page